The Reason Why I Am Leaving

4 Jan

January 10. Tuesday. The date that may changed my life forever.

A lot of my friends are asking where I am going. I can’t tell them. My mom and I agreed that only a few people should know about my decision. She’s afraid that people will judge me again. Of course, they will. So I’ve told only a few people about this; my best friend (Erlich), my college room mate (Ate Arianne), and some WordPress people.

But now I’ll tell all of you the reason why I am leaving. The place where I am going. But promise me, you have to keep it a secret. Especially to some of my friends who know this blog site of mine. If you happen to read this, please don’t tell anyone.

This is it. I am going in a rehabilitation center/mental institution. Surprise. Surprise. Again, please don’t judge me. This is the hardest decision I’ve ever made. I’ve think about it not just twice but a couple of times before I’ve finally agreed to this. But I guess, this is the smartest thing to do. I’m not sure of myself. Sometimes, when I am alone, when I’m sad, I still think of killing myself. What if I did it again and then I ended up dead? it will just break my mother’s heart. And I don’t wanna leave her. Now that I know how much she loves me. I don’t wanna hurt her again. I’m her only child and she’s my only parent. No one will take care of her when she’s old and sick. I am the only person she can count on. I am doing this not just for me, but for her. I love my mom so much that now, thinking of leaving her breaks my heart. So I have to do this. I need to do this. It’s hard leaving all of my possessions behind. A life without internet, phones and television. A place where you know no one. A room full of strangers who has mental illness. Depressed and suicidal like me. I don’t know how long will it take before I’ll be home again. A month, a couple of months or maybe a year. I really don’t know. It’s also hard for my mom; her only daughter will be living like a prisoner in a rehabilitation center.

I still don’t know the name and exact address of the facility but it is owned by my psychiatrist. My mom has to extend her work contract because of this. She’s going to spend 20000 to 40000 php (500 to 1000 USD) a month for my rehabilitation. I know my father’s not going to help her with the expenses. Knowing he has a daughter with mental disorder, he’ll just think of me as a disgrace in his family. To think that I am also his illegitimate daughter. And I am using his surname. In his head, I know he’s saying these words, “WHAT A SHAME!” But, I’m still hoping that he cares for me. He’s still my father, right?

The rehabilitation center is located near our place. Somewhere in Pilar, Bataan but I’ve said, I don’t know the exact address. Most of the patients there are drug addicts because it is primarily a drug rehabilitation center but there’s still room for people like me. They have patients like me. I’m not expecting any visitors ’cause only a few people know about it. I just hope I’ll see my friends before I leave. I’m gonna miss them. And it’s hard when you don’t get any updates from the outside world. As if I am living in Big Brother’s house.

I hope that my stay there will heal my heart and clear my mind. I hope that when I get back, I am a better person.

Leave a Reply

